Visiting Faculty

Meghan Lamb

Meghan Lamb is the author of All Your Most Private Places (Spork Press, 2019) and Silk Flowers (Birds of Lace, 2017). She recently served as the Philip Roth Writer-in-Residence at Bucknell University, where she developed a novel set in the Pennsylvania coal region. Her work has appeared in Quarterly West, DIAGRAM, Redivider, Passages North, The Rumpus, and The Collagist, among other publications. She currently serves as the nonfiction co-editor of Nat.Brut, a journal of art and literature dedicated to advancing inclusivity in all creative fields.

Shane DuBow

Shane DuBow is a writer and teacher with a background in documentary film and museum exhibit design. His writing has appeared in Chicago Review, GQ, Harper’s, National Geographic, The New York Times Magazine, Ploughshares, Smithsonian, and on the public radio program This American Life. As an educator, Shane has worked with a diverse array of students in high school, college, and beyond. And for years he served as the director of a peer-to-peer writing center on the Westside of Chicago. Shane has received fellowships from Bread Loaf, Columbia University, and Goucher College where he also earned an MFA in creative nonfiction after first studying writing at Oberlin College. He is at work on a true-crime memoir about how he came to stand as best man at the wedding of a bank robber who once held a gun to his head.

Dina Peone

Dina Peone is at work on her first book, a memoir about a house fire that nearly killed her and her younger sister when they were morbid teenagers. She studied writing at Sarah Lawrence before earning her MFA in nonfiction from the University of Iowa. There, her love of pedagogy earned her numerous honors and fellowships, including an Outstanding Teaching Award and the opportunity to teach the University of Iowa’s first-ever online course in creative nonfiction. Dina has taught writing to incarcerated women, high school and college students across America, as well as PhD students from around the world. She has worked as an editorial assistant for many literary magazines, most recently The Iowa Review, and she is the founding editor of the Cliffhanger., a pocket-sized anthology devoted to the fragment. Her latest essay, “Freddy Krueger is Not Real: The Dream of a Burn Survivor” was nominated for a Pushcart Prize.

Sharon Pomerantz

Sharon Pomerantz’s first novel Rich Boy (TWELVE) won the National Jewish Book Award for Debut Fiction and was a Best Book of the Year from Entertainment Weekly and Booklist. Her short fiction has appeared in numerous literary journals, including Ploughshares, The Missouri Review, and Michigan Quarterly Review, as well as on NPR’s Selected Shorts program, and in Best American Short Stories. Her essays, reviews and cultural criticism have appeared in The Forward, The Chicago Tribune, Time, and many others. She has been a fellow at the Macdowell Colony, Art OMI, and the Virginia Center. Before moving to Chicago in 2016, she taught in the writing program at the University of Michigan.

William Ayers

William Ayers, formerly Distinguished Professor of Education and Senior University Scholar at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) has written extensively about social justice, democracy, and education, and teaching as an essentially intellectual, ethical, and political enterprise. His books include A Kind and Just Parent; Teaching toward Freedom; Fugitive Days: A Memoir; Public Enemy: Confessions of an American Dissident; To Teach: The Journey, in Comics; Race Course: Against White Supremacy; and Demand the Impossible! A Radical Manifesto.

Ben Hoffman

Ben Hoffman’s fiction has been published by American Short Fiction, Gettysburg Review, Granta, The Missouri Review, and Zoetrope. He is the recipient of the Chicago Tribune’s Nelson Algren Award, a Carol Houck Smith Fellowship from the Wisconsin Institute of Creative Writing, and a Wallace Stegner Fellowship from Stanford University.

Ben Austen

Ben Austen is the author of High-Risers: Cabrini-Green and the Fate of American Public Housing (HarperCollins, 2018). His writing has appeared in the New York Times Magazine, Harper's Magazine, GQ, The Atlantic, Wired, New York, Elle, The Best American Travel Writing, among other publications. A former editor at Harper's Magazine, Ben is a story consultant on The City podcast and a board member of The South Side Weekly. He is a native South Sider.

Joshua Edwards

Joshua Edwards is the author of The Exhausted Dream, Castles and Islands, Architecture for Travelers, Imperial Nostalgias, and Campeche, and a photobook, Photographs Taken at One-Hour Intervals During a Walk from Galveston Island to the West Texas Town of Marfa. His cross-disciplinary projects have been exhibited at Rice University, Akademie Schloss Solitude, Galveston Artist Residency, the University of Arizona Poetry Center, and the Pensacola Museum of Art. Edwards has taught at the University of Michigan, Stanford University, and elsewhere, and he directs and co-edits Canarium Books.

Canarium Books  |
Architecture for Travelers  |

Christopher Kempf

Christopher Kempf is the author of Late in the Empire of Men, which won the 2015 Levis Prize in Poetry from Four Way Books.  Recipient of a Pushcart Prize, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and a Wallace Stegner Fellowship from Stanford University, his work has appeared in Gettysburg Review, Kenyon Review, The New Republic, PEN America, and Ploughshares.

Annie Janusch

Annie Janusch is the translator of four novels by Wolf Haas, the Heinrich von Kleist novella The Duel, as well as works by Jürgen Goldstein, Anja Kampmann, Walter Kappacher, and Uwe Tellkamp. She has been an editor and reviewer for the journals Chicago Review, The Quarterly Conversation, Two Lines, and Translation Review. A former Robert Bosch Fellow at the University of Leipzig, Janusch holds an MFA from the University of Iowa and a 2017 Literature Translation Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts.   


Subscribe to RSS - Visiting Faculty