The Pearl Andelson Sherry Memorial Poetry Reading and Lecture

Fred Moten

Sherry Poet-in-Residence 2015-2016

Fred Moten lives in Los Angeles, where he teaches at the University of California, Riverside. He is author of Arkansas (Pressed Wafer); In the Break: The Aesthetics of the Black Radical Tradition (University of Minnesota Press); I ran from it but was still in it. (Cusp Books); Hughson’s Tavern (Leon Works); B Jenkins (Duke University Press); and The Feel Trio (Letter Machine Editions), which is a finalist for the National Book Award.

Will be in residence the week of May 2, 2016

A Brief History of the Pearl Andelson Sherry Memorial Poetry Reading and Lecture 

The Pearl Andelson Sherry Memorial Poetry Reading and Lecture honor the life and work of former University of Chicago student, Pearl Andelson Sherry.

Pearl Andelson Sherry was born on the west side of Chicago in 1899. Despite objections from her father, she attended the University for one year, probably in 1916–1917. During that time, Pearl Sherry met a group of writers and poets involved in the Poetry Club, including Ivor Winters, Janet Lewis, and John Toigo; she remained friends with the members of the Poetry Club for the rest of her life. This literary circle nurtured Pearl Sherry’s own aspirations as a writer, and she began her writing career working at Poetry magazine with Harriet Monroe. Her first book of poetry, Fringe, was published in 1923. Her poetry, fiction, and reviews appeared in many periodicals, including Dial, Poetry, New Republic, Chelsea, and the Southern Review. Pearl Sherry continued to write and publish poetry until shortly before she died in 1996.

Established in 1997 through a gift from the Sherry Family, the Pearl Andelson Sherry Memorial Fund annually brings a major contemporary poet to the University of Chicago to work with students and to present the Pearl Andelson Sherry Memorial Poetry Reading and Lecture.

Past Sherry Poets

SPRING 2015 Lisa Robertson

SPRING 2014 Susan Wheeler

AUTUMN 2012 Ann Lauterbach

WINTER 2012 Rosmarie and Keith Waldrop

SPRING 2011 Lyn Hejinian

WINTER 2010 Mark Strand

WINTER 2009 Carl Phillips

AUTUMN 2007 Susan Howe

AUTUMN 2006 Michael Palmer

AUTUMN 2005 Jim Powell

AUTUMN 2004 Allen Grossman

SPRING 2004 Mark Doty

SPRING 2003 Campbell McGrath 

SPRING 2003 Kenneth Field

SPRING 2001 Alane Rollings

SPRING 2000 Eleanor Wilner

SPRING 1999 David Wojahn

SPRING 1998 Anne Winters