Call for Submissions & Grants


The Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing

The Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing is thrilled to offer a number of scholarships to the Desert Nights, Rising Stars Writers Conference for individuals who are currently enrolled as full-time students in undergraduate or graduate degree programs at an institution of higher education in the United States.  

Scholarships provide full registration to the Desert Nights, Rising Stars Writers Conference and recognition in the conference program.

Please note: individuals attending institutions outside of the United States are ineligible to apply.

Applications are due Friday, November 22, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Arizona time. 

To learn more about the scholarship, keep reading or submit an application.

For other conference scholarship opportunities, you can view other scholarships.

To learn more about the Desert Nights, Rising Stars Writers Conference, you can meet our faculty or view this year's schedule.

Porter House Review

Deadline: December 1, 2019


Porter House Review, Texas State University's graduate literary journal, is currently accepting submissions in fiction, poetry, nonfiction, and visual art for its second annual Editor's Prize contests. This year's judges and prize amounts include:

$1000 prize in Fiction, Judged by Carmen Maria Machado

$750 prize in Nonfiction, Judged by Leslie Jamison

$500 prize in Poetry, Judged by Ada Limón

$200 prize in Visual Art, Judged by Meg Lionel Murphy

In particular, we are interested in promoting underrepresented and international voices, but we welcome all submissions. Our advisory board includes Jamel Brinkley, Charles D'Ambrosio, Erica Dawson, Ben Fountain, Cristina García, Carmen Maria Machado, Tomás Q. Morín, Naomi Shihab Nye, Tim O'Brien, Luis Javier Rodriguez, Karen Russell, and Evie Shockley. Attached you will find the contest flyer. The contest will be open through December 1st and entries can be submitted via our Submittable portal. All entries will be considered for publication at acompetitive rate, regardless of whether they are selected as prize winners. Last year, the journal selected over 30 pieces for publication from the contest.


Euphony Journal: Pumpkin-Spiced Stories

Deadline: December 6, 2019

It’s pumpkin season! Show us your best fall-flavored works and submit to our contest. Limit one entry per author. Please address any questions to More information here


The Lamp

Deadline: December 20, 2019

Call for Submissions! The Lamp is looking for submissions for its 2020 issue (Volume 10). The Lamp is an international literary journal dedicated to showcasing the creative writing of graduate and professional students.  If you write poetry, short fiction, scripts, creative nonfiction, or any other form of textual art, please submit your work to The Lamp at The deadline is Friday, December 20, 2019! Submission Guidelines: Contributors must be in a graduate or professional program. Include your name, email address, and degree in your email cover letter, but do not put any identifying information in your submission document. Only the Editors-in-Chief will have access to this information prior to finalizing accepted submissions.Documents should be attached in .doc/.docx formats to facilitate reading. Pieces submitted in pdf format or in hardcopy will not be accepted. Submissions should be in Times New Roman, 12-point font, with 1-inch margins.  Please single-space. Pieces can be a maximum of 18 pages. There is no limit to the number of pieces you can submit. Please edit your work carefully before submitting. Please inform us if your work is a simultaneous submission. To learn more about The Lamp, visit 


Catfish Creek

Deadline: December 10, 2019

Catfish Creek, the national undergraduate literary journal published by Loras College, is now reading for our tenth edition, to be released in late spring of 2020. Any student currently registered in an undergraduate degree program is eligible to submit.


2020 Chapbook Fellowships

Deadline: December 23, 2019

THE PSA CHAPBOOK FELLOWSHIP 30 AND UNDER: Open to any U. S. citizen or anyone currently living within the U. S. who is 30 or under and has not published a full-length poetry collection.

THE PSA CHAPBOOK FELLOWSHIP: Open to any U.S. citizen or anyone currently living within the U. S. who has not published a full-length poetry collection.

Please submit only one copy of your manuscript. Manuscript page length: between 20-30 pages of poetry (front matter not included in count). Poems must be typed. A complete submission should include: A title page with contest name (The PSA Chapbook Fellowship or The PSA Chapbook Fellowship 30 and Under), your name, address, telephone, email, and any other relevant contact information. Your name should not appear elsewhere in the manuscript. A title page with just the title of the manuscript. An acknowledgments page. Poems included in your manuscript may be previously published, but please include an acknowledgments page listing specific publications. A complete Table of Contents. Your manuscript. More information here. THE PSA CHAPBOOK FELLOWSHIP 30 AND UNDER Judged by Gabrielle Calvocoressi and Oliver de la Paz. THE PSA CHAPBOOK FELLOWSHIP Kim Addonizio and Jericho Brown.  $1,000 prize, publication, and a residency at the T. S. Eliot House. 


Disquiet Prize

Deadline: January 31, 2020

The 2020 DISQUIET Prize is now open for submissions. Contest winners in the categories of fiction, poetry, and non-fiction will have their winning work published in North America’s leading publications. Additionally, one grand prize winner will receive a full fellowship (airfare stipend, tuition, and housing included) to the 2020 DISQUIET International Program in Lisbon, Portugal. Runners-up and other outstanding entrants will be considered for financial aid. The complete guidelines for the 2020 contest are listed here.


Hurston/Wright Awards for College Writers

Deadline: January 31, 2020

The Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation is accepting submissions for the annual Hurston/Wright Awards for College Writers, the only award of its kind that recognizes Black college writers. The award was initiated to support emerging Black artists in fiction and poetry enrolled full-time in an undergraduate or graduate school program anywhere in the United States. Submissions for the award open October 1, 2019 and close January 31, 2020. Submissions will be judged by distinguished published authors in fiction and poetry. Writers will be notified in March whether their submissions were accepted or not accepted. Awards, which include a cash prize, will be announced in May. Award winners will be invited to attend the Legacy Award ceremony that is hosted in October in Washington, DC. More information here.



Deadline: March 21, 2019

Asterism is an international journal accepting English-written submissions and our team of editors would like to reach out to find engaging and promising works from a wide variety of undergraduate students. Asterism is currently accepting submissions for two different categories: poetry and short fiction stories. Students may submit their work at and view our current issue at  Questions? Contact Doug Sutton-Ramspeck at